May 23, 2016

NewDEAL Announces 13 New Leaders to Join Growing Network

Pro-growth Progressive Elected Officials Recognized for Policy Innovation

See this release as a PDF

Today, the NewDEAL (Developing Exceptional American Leaders) Honorary Co-Chairs Governor Jack Markell of Delaware and U.S. Senator Mark Warner of Virginia announced that 13 state and local elected officials from across the country have been selected as the next group of NewDEAL Leaders.

The NewDEAL is a national network committed to highlighting pro-growth progressive state and local elected leaders from across the country with innovative ideas to build broadly-earned, sustainable economic growth. Since its launch in 2011, the network has grown from 10 leaders to 143 state and local leaders from 45 states and the U.S. Virgin Islands, and launched an interactive ideas portal highlighting dozens of state and local ideas to grow the economy, expand opportunity for all and make government work better.

“I congratulate this group of NewDEAL Leaders who have been chosen for their pro-growth policy solutions from the front-lines of government. We are proud to highlight these leaders from across the country with innovative ideas to make government more efficient and effective,” said Senator Mark Warner (D-VA), Honorary Co-Chair of the NewDEAL.

“Year after year, the NewDEAL identifies remarkable state and local leaders who have a proven-track record of innovative solutions. These elected officials have fresh ideas about how we can meet the challenges of the 21st Century.  I'm glad they've been given the distinction and the support that the NewDEAL network provides, ” said Governor Jack Markell (D-DE), Honorary Co-Chair of the NewDEAL.

The NewDEAL is recognizing thirteen leaders who hail from diverse regions of the country:

Milwaukee (WI) Representative Mandela Barnes, Charlottesville (VA) Vice Mayor Wes Bellamy. ​Reno (NV) Assemblymember Teresa Benitez-Thompson, Anchorage (AK) Mayor Ethan Berkowitz, New York City (NY) Assemblymember Michael Blake, Albuquerque (NM) Senator Jacob Candelaria, Mountain View (CA) Councilmember Chris Clark, Houston (TX) Councilmember Amanda Edwards, ​​Phoenix (AZ) Vice Mayor Kate Gallego, ​Baltimore (MD) Delegate Brooke Lierman, Cedar Rapids (IA) Senator Liz Mathis, ​​U.S. Virgin Islands Senator Janette Millin Young, and Honolulu (HI) House Majority Leader Scott Saiki.

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.